What is Restricted Mode?

Restricted mode is Oura’s way of protecting your information in case an unwanted party gets ahold of your Oura Ring and attempts to pair it with their device.

Restricted mode protects your personal data if you lose your Oura Ring or it’s stolen. If an external party tries to pair your ring with their device, the Oura app will require a factory reset to be performed. A factory reset will wipe all collected data from the ring’s memory. 

Restricted mode may otherwise come into play if you attempt to pair your ring to a new device without performing a factory reset first. Please avoid pairing your ring to more than one device at a time and if you’d like to switch devices, be sure to perform a factory reset prior to.

If the app notifies you it's in Restricted mode, you'll need to reset the ring to its factory settings in order to continue using it. To do so, please visit this link.

When resetting your ring to its factory settings, only data from the ring's memory will be erased. Previous data that has been synced to your Oura account and is currently available in your app will not be affected. The Oura app and ring sync at least once every 24 hours, so as long as your ring and app have remained properly connected, data loss should not be of concern under this scenario. 

Was this article helpful? 137 out of 176 found this helpful
More questions? Click here to learn more.
Back to the Top